Sign In


Eligibility Criteria
  • Faculty members (permanent/full time) of social sciences, art/design and humanities, behavioural sciences, and such other disciplines which are not covered in the science faculties, having at least PhD degree or equivalent (in case of principal investigator) or M.S./M.Phil. or equivalent (in case of co p​rincipal investigator(s)) of public sector universities or eligible private sector universities (list is available at HEC web site) are eligible to apply for this research grant.  
  • Faculty members retiring in the same fiscal year will not be entitled to receive research project grant.
  • The faculty members on study leave during the fiscal year will not be entitled for research project grant. 
  • PI must not have a history of un-successful, un-adjusted and un-accounted for previous HEC funded project.
  • Proposal must include a cover sheet, abstract, brief survey of literature, bibliography and other details as per prescribed Application Form and CVs of the research team.
  • Proposals must be submitted with the approval of the Vice Chancellor/Rector/Director of university/DAI.
  • Completed proposals reach the HEC office on or before the deadline. Late submissions shall not be considered. 

The Universities / Institutions are eligible for public support in the following areas:



28 Private Universities declared eligible for FUNDING under PUBLIC-PRIVATE-PARTNERSHIP Program

1Ghulam Ishaq Khan Institute of Engineering & Technology (GIKI), TOPI, SWABI
2Aga Khan University (AKU), Karachi
3Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS), Lahore
4Foundation University, Islamabad
5Riphah International University, Islamabad
6National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences (FAST), Islamabad
7Indus Institute of Higher Education, Karachi
8Institute of Business and Technology, Karachi
9University of Management Technology, Lahore
10Zia-ud-Din University, Karachi
11University of Faisalabad, Faisalabad
12Institute of Business Management, Karachi
13University of Lahore, Lahore
14Dadabhoy Institute of Higher Education, Karachi
15Beaconhouse National University (BNU), Lahore
16IQRA University, Karachi
17Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science & Technology (SZABIST), Karachi
18ISRA University, Hyderabad
19Sarhad University of Science & Technology, Peshawar
21BAQAI Medical University, Karachi
22HAMDARD University, Karachi
23Sir Syed University of Engineering & Technology, Karachi
24JINNAH University for Women, Karachi
25National College of Business Administration & Economics, Lahore
26University of WAH, Wah Cantt.
27Textile Institute of Pakistan, Karachi                               
28Karachi Institute of Economics & Technology, Karachi    ​